Mission Statement

The South Texas Family Support Conference shall continue to strengthen families and individuals awareness of available behavioral healthcare services through culturally sensitive education, supports and partnerships.

Vision Statement

The South Texas Family Support Conference is a partnership of stakeholders dedicated to the empowerment of families and Individuals with behavioral healthcare needs by providing information, support, and Networking opportunities that Inspire hope for a brighter future.

Conference History

The South Texas Family Support Conference (STFSC), began as a diversity initiative consistent with the legacy TDMHMR mission, vision and goals. It has been successfully held since 1995 due to collaboration and commitment of the partners and stakeholders of each community to form a process to provide education to families and consumers throughout the region of South Texas.

STFSC is the only bilingual conference available in South Texas specifically for family members and consumers to learn about mental health and developmental disability to enhance education, supports and partnerships.

This conference is unique in that it accommodates individuals financially unable to attend and benefit from such an event. Partners provide stipends for families and consumers to attend the conference. The goal of the conference is to provide culturally sensitive education on mental health and developmental disabilities, identify and promote supports, cultivate and foster partnerships and advocate for new programs in local communities.

Previous Conferences have been held in:

  • Corpus Christi, Texas 1995
  • Laredo, Texas 1996
  • San Antonio, Texas 1997
  • McAllen, Texas 1998
  • Kerrville, Texas 1999
  • Victoria, Texas 2000
  • Austin, Texas 2001
  • Corpus Christi, Texas 2002
  • Laredo, Texas 2003
  • San Antonio, Texas 2004
  • South Padre Island, Texas 2005
  • Kerrville, Texas 2006
  • Corpus Christi, Texas 2007
  • Laredo, Texas 2008
  • South Padre Island, Texas 2009
  • Kerrville, Texas 2010
  • Corpus Christi, Texas 2011
  • Laredo, Texas 2012
  • South Padre Island, Texas 2013
  • Kerrville, Texas 2014
  • Corpus Christi, Texas 2015
  • Austin, Texas 2016
  • Laredo, Texas 2017
  • South Padre Island, 2018
  • Kerrville, Texas 2019
  • Austin, Texas 2020