2019 Conference

WELCOME to the 25th Annual South Texas Family Support Conference (STFSC), the only bilingual conference specifically designed to enhance knowledge of mental health services, heighten awareness of mental illness and developmental disabilities and identify resources and support systems for consumers and families within the South Texas region. The goal of STFSC is to provide culturally effective, responsive and appropriate resources for individuals living with mental health issues and developmental disabilities and gives attendees and presenters an opportunity to share stories of how mental health has impacted their lives.

The first conference was held in Corpus Christi in the summer of 1999. The state designated Mental Health Authorities across Texas, consumers and families from each community to come together to develop a conference that would provide education, encouragement and support throughout South Texas. Since its inception, the conference has remained focused on providing educational opportunities, peer support and a chance to come together to reduce stigma and increase access to care.

The South Texas Family Support Conference Planning Committee has worked hard to put together an engaging and diverse program.


South Texas Family Support Conference


Mr. Terry Crocker
Executive Director, Tropical Texas Behavioral Health Center

Mrs. Maria A. Sanchez
Executive Director, Border Region Behavioral Health Center

Mr. Ross Robinson
Executive Director, Hill Country MHDD Center

Mr. Mike Davis
Executive Director, Nueces Center for Mental Health and Intellectual Disabilities

Mr. David Evans
Executive Director, Integral Care

Mr. Mark Durand
Executive Director, Coastal Plains Community Center

Ms. Melissa Gongaware
Executive Director, Corpus Christi State Supported Living Center


Planning Committee

Tropical Texas Behavioral Health Center: Coni Diedrich-Aguirre, Nancy Ochoa, and Raquel Rosales

Border Region Behavioral Health Center: Laura Kim

Hill Country MHDD Center: Martha Toles, Carmen Martinez, and Hector Vera

Corpus Christi State Supported Living Center: Polly Ramirez

Integral Care: Christopher Tarango

Coastal Plains Community Center: Alicia Barreto

Nueces Center for Mental Health and Intellectual Disabilities: Danny Resendez


Other Contributors:

Dr. David Luna – Executive Director of LRGV Regional Advisory Council on Trauma

Mr. Ron Morales


View and download the full conference schedule here.